Who Are the Queen Elizabeth II’s Children?

The British Royal Family is called the Royal House of Windsor, named after the very popular castle, which is also one of their official residences, being the Queen’s weekend home. The current Royal Family is headed by the Queen and her husband, Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh. They have four children: Charles, Prince of Wales; Anne, the Princess Royal; Andrew, Duke of York, and Edward, Earl of Wessex. The members of the Royal Family also include the Queen’s daughters-in-law, her grandchildren, and her relatives bearing the title Princes and Princesses and the style His/Her Royal Highness.

The Queen

Queen Elizabeth II is currently the head of state of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, as well as 16 other independent states comprising the British Commonwealth of Nations. She was born in 1926 and became Queen in 1952 upon her father’s death. Hardworking as ever, the Queen symbolizes the country’s unity and long-standing traditions that have upheld the British spirit. Her golden and diamond jubilee, celebrated in 2002 and 2012, respectively, have witnessed strong public fervor in her support.

The Duke of Edinburgh

Prince Philip, Duke of Edinburgh was born Prince Philip of Greece. He worked with the British Navy prior his marriage to Queen Elizabeth II in 1947. He was created Duke of Edinburgh and in 1957, a Prince of the United Kingdom. He has been active in various charitable and public engagements ever since.

The Prince of Wales and Duchess of Cornwall

Charles, Prince of Wales, is heir apparent to the throne. He is an active advocate of environmental awareness. In 1981, he married Lady Diana Spencer, who gave birth to Prince William and Prince Harry. They divorced in 1996 and she died the following year. In 2006, the prince married Camilla Parker-Bowles and has since then been called the Duchess of Cornwall.

The Princess Royal

Princess Anne is the Queen’s only daughter. The title Princess Royal of Great Britain was conferred upon her in 1987, a title usually held by the sovereign’s eldest or only daughter. She is an accomplished equestrian and is one of the hardest-working members of the Royal Family. She has two children by her first marriage to Capt. Mark Phillips, Peter and Zara.

The Duke of York

Prince Andrew is the second son and third child of Queen Elizabeth II. He is an active ambassador of trade and business, an aspect where his interest mostly lies. He married Sarah Fergusson in 1986 and they were divorced in 1996. They have two daughters, Princesses Beatrice and Eugenie.

The Earl and Countess of Wessex

Prince Edward, the Queen’s youngest son is so far the only British prince to held an earldom for a title. He married Sophie Rhys-Jones in 1999 and they have two children, Lady Louise and the Viscount Severn. Like the Queen’s elder children, the Earl and Countess are active members of the British Royal Family.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.